The Latest:

Grimes “Flesh without Blood/Life in the Vivid Dream”

It’s been a long and winding road for Claire Boucher aka Grimes and her upcoming fourth album, Art Angels. Last summer, we there was a but of a comeback from her third 2012 album, Visions with the track Go which was originally written for Rihanna. She then announced that she was scrapping the version of the album she’d been working on because “it sucked” and “was depressing” and back in March she released the unreleased song REALiTi with a gorgeous cinematic video (which made the album cut)… After all of this, fans were left wanting more and now we’re finally hearing the first taste of actual recorded music which is actually two songs, Flesh Without Blood and Life In The Vivid Dream.

Art Angels official artwork.

The tracks debuted as BBC Radio 1’s Hottest Record and Grimes was on the phone for an interview which she revealed that the album willdrop next Friday November 6th. Also, there are two songs with featured vocalists: One with Janelle Monae that was recorded at Janelle’s own label, Wondaland Studios, and another track which she previously discussed with Taiwanese rapper, Aristophanes.

In the video, Act 1 is Flesh Without Blood. It’s a beautifully done pop song that is sugary but make no mistake about it, it’s still very much a Grimes song with reverb that is paired with an upbeat track and spicy electric guitar riffs intermixed with echoing vocals and a chorus that will be stuck in your brain for ages… All in all, the perfect earworm song and watching the official video just once was fucking impossible.
Grimes directed and edited the whole video herself which was filmed at California’s kitsch hotel Madonna Inn, which if you know Grimes is very much fitting of who she is as a person and artist. The video is an assortment of alter egos that she’s discussed in interviews… There’s a bloodythirsty angel, the gender fluid androgynous ego, a cyberpunk gamer, a purple-wigged Victorian (Marie Antoinette inspo?) and these alter egos also all have names like “Roccoco Basilisk” and “Screechy Bat” which are absolutely perfect. Act 2 is Life in the Vivid Dream is a slower, more introspective cut that still has the spark and attraction of a firecracker. It’s mesmerizing and everything we love about Claire Boucher.

Watch the official video below.


01 “Laughing And Not Being Normal”
02 “California”
03 “SCREAM” (Feat. Aristophanes)
04 “Flesh Without Blood”
05 “Belly Of The Beat”
06 “Kill V. Maim”
07 “Artangels”
08 “Easily”
09 “Pin”
10 “Realiti”
11 “World Princess Part II”
12 “Venus Fly” (Feat. Janelle Monáe)
13 “Life In The Vivid Dream”
14 “Butterfly”

Flesh Without Blood is out now and Art Angels is out next Friday November 6th via 4AD.
Check back for more Grimes this week because apparently, we’ll be getting a few more songs later this week.

About Naomi (858 Articles)
<p>Most important thing to know about me is that I’m a melomaniac and shameless fangirl. I am addicted to concerts, they are my sanctuary and safe haven. When I’m on the front row on the barricade of a concert… I feel that I am truly home.<br /> I’m also a proud and happy vinyl crate-digger. Whether it’s searching for vinyl at flea markets, garage sales, vintage shops… I am a sucker for the crackling of a good record when the needle drops on a turntable.<br /> I am a true Cancer with Moon in Cancer and ascending in Pisces.<br /> Also, loves dogs (especially my son Elvis) and quality food porn pictures.<br /> Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat, Facebook: @youthquakermimi</p>

3 Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Look at Grimes’ Track-By-Track Illustrations for “Art Angels” |
  2. Grimes Feat. Aristophanes “Scream” |
  3. Watch Grimes’ ‘Kill V. Maim’ Video |