The Latest:

Temples “Certainty”

Temples are back. Beloved psych rock band from Kettering are officially back and they’ve got a new song to prove it. Certainty is the first single from their new album which is set for a release in early 2017, it’ll be the follow-up to their smashing debut album Sun Structures.

Certainty is paradoxical, in a brilliant way. It’s cheery and upbeat but also has a moody, dark vibe to the track. James Bagshaw (lead vox/lead guitar) had this to say about the single:
When writing the melody for ‘Certainty,’ I wanted to create something with almost an eerie, early Disney vibe, something playful and harmonious, but with a dark twist. Producing the song was as much about layering as it was about sparseness — the verses needed to reveal the thumping motion of the bass and the reflective lyrics,” he added, “and the melody had to be paired with the right ambience. The chorus was approached in an opposite way, layer after layer, thickening the sound. There’s a blend between moog bass, and actual bass, and the song switches between synthetic and analogue sounds throughout. The guitar mirrors the synth, and visa versa.” Listen below.

Temples – 2016 Tour Dates:
Thu. Oct. 6 – London, UK @ Oslo
Thu. Oct. 13 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom
Fri. Oct. 14 — Joshua Tree @ Desert Daze
Sat. Oct. 15 — San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall
Mon. Oct. 17 — Portland, OR @ Star Theater
Tue. Oct. 18 — Seattle, WA @ Crocodile Cafe
Fri. Oct. 21 — St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club
Sat. Oct. 22 — Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle
Sun. Oct. 23 — Columbus, OH @ The A&R Music Bar
Mon. Oct. 24 — Toronto, ON @ Lee’s Palace
Wed. Oct. 26 — New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom
Thu. Oct. 27 — Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel
Fri. Oct. 28 — Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s
Sat. Oct. 29 — Boston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall

About Naomi (853 Articles)
<p>Most important thing to know about me is that I’m a melomaniac and shameless fangirl. I am addicted to concerts, they are my sanctuary and safe haven. When I’m on the front row on the barricade of a concert… I feel that I am truly home.<br /> I’m also a proud and happy vinyl crate-digger. Whether it’s searching for vinyl at flea markets, garage sales, vintage shops… I am a sucker for the crackling of a good record when the needle drops on a turntable.<br /> I am a true Cancer with Moon in Cancer and ascending in Pisces.<br /> Also, loves dogs (especially my son Elvis) and quality food porn pictures.<br /> Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat, Facebook: @youthquakermimi</p>