The Latest:

ALFIE TEMPLEMAN Shares brand new single & video ‘Everybody’s Gonna Love Somebody’; Announces new mini-album

18-year-old Alfie Templeman has shared his brand new single ‘Everybody’s Gonna Love Somebody’, and has announced details of his new mini-album Forever Isn’t Long Enough – out on 7 May via Chess Club Records.

‘Everybody’s Gonna Love Somebody’ is Templeman’s first single since ‘Forever Isn’t Long Enough’ arrived back in September 2020.

The new single – written, performed, and produced entirely by Templeman in his bedroom – takes inspiration from classic groove-laden 80s pop, with sultry sax lines weaving their way between popping guitar rhythms. The Bedfordshire teen explains:

“I first wrote and recorded ‘Everybody’s Gonna Love Somebody’ back in 2017 when I was 14 years old and it’s been ingrained in my memory ever since. I’d always go back to it and try to re-record it but I could never quite get it right – then I went on a Tears For Fears binge and realized that it needed that ‘Everybody Wants To Rule The World’ kind of production. I got back in the studio, changed a few lyrics, and cut it in a couple of hours. It’s probably my favorite song on the new record.”

Speaking on the track’s video, directed by Thomas Davis, Templeman says:

“This is my most adventurous video yet. I was really keen on making a cinematic experience for ‘Everybody’s Gonna Love Somebody’ and Thomas was perfect for bringing exactly that to life. Brian and Suzie were a pleasure to work with and it was nice to see them work things out in the end. I sure do adore those two lovebirds!”

Adding about the mini-album: “I wanted to make a refined and focused pop record – something more widescreen than an EP but more concise than a full-length album -with a feel somewhere between Fleetwood Mac’s Rumours and Tame Impala’s Currents. In making Forever Isn’t Long Enough I realized that I needed to slow down a little and work on things carefully. The songs took anywhere from one day to 4 months to 2 years to finish for this record, but I made sure each one was perfect and I’ve never been more proud of how they all came out.” 

Alfie Templeman – Forever Isn’t Long Enough – out 07/05/2021 on Chess Club Records

1. Shady

2. Forever Isn’t Long Enough

3. Hideaway 

4. Wait, I Lied 

5. Everybody’s Gonna Love Somebody 

6. Film Scene Daydream 

7. To You 

8. One More Day (feat. April)

About Teri (2984 Articles)
You can usually find me traveling, queuing, or at barricade for a band. I am most likely doing all three things in a day. If I'm not at a concert you can also find me digging through crates for that coveted black disc of vinyl.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.